Body2Body – Quenching Aarhus’ thirst for hard music (interview)

Blog English March 13 2019
DJ Lag

Body2Body, March 16th & 22nd @ TAPE, Aarhus – live preview by Ivna Franic

Aarhus is in for two pretty sickening events this month – headlined by Lee Gamble and DJ Lag, respectively, and organized by Body2Body, a local club night promoting genre-bending music, pairing cutting edge international acts with leading local talent, and putting a focus on the visuals.

Body2Body has so far put on events featuring acts like DJ Nigga Fox, Jana Rush, RP Boo, DJ PayPal and others, with the two forthcoming events following a similar trail. One could even get the impression that tense club music styles such as ghetto-tech, ghetto house, juke or grime are much more of a “thing” in Aarhus than they are on the techno-dominated Copenhagen scene.

Læs resten

Festival of Endless Gratitude 2017 – Sketching the outer edges of sound (reportage)

October 14 2017


Festival of Endless Gratitude 2017, Sydhavnsgade, September 29-October 1. Reportage by Javier Orozco – photos by Stefan Thorndahl, videos by Morten Sichlau Bruun.

The chant of ‘Gabestok! Gabestok!’ pervaded the air anticipating the Copenhagen-duo’s ground level performance. As soon as their sonic assault was unleashed, the choir became all fists and mosh pit. Those of us who stepped out of the rumble still felt the local duo’s menacing short set, underneath the building’s wooden structure and amongst the art installations these moments screamed punk as fuck. Minutes later British experimental-duo Gnod’s divisive and largely improvised performance was well worth a what-the-fuck. These performances separated merely by minutes could not have been more different from each other. And this was only halfway into the second night of the 10th edition of Festival of Endless Gratitude.

Over the course of the last years this annual festival has created a cross-disciplinary space that gathers art-installations, analogue projections, film, performances and chiefly music (with a vigorous focus on sonic expansion and diversity); simultaneously it has provided a platform for experimental and underground local bands, while offering rare performances by international cult acts (Faust, RP Boo, Arpanet). Along with its determined aesthetic selection the festival has kept a devoted DIY spirit which is tangible in different facets of its personality: the active audio engineers, the food and drinks, and the way the premises are appropriated. At the core FoEG feels as the love-child of music enthusiasts with an ear for the peripheral and the uncharted; at its best one feels like crashing a large party of music enthusiasts. Læs resten

Mono No Aware (もののあわれ) – Skønheden ved altings smuldren

Kritik April 11 2017

Mono No Aware

Af Alexander Julin

“Mono No Aware (もののあわれ)” er den første kompilation på PAN og præsenterer ny og hidtil uudgivet musik fra bl.a Pan Daijing, HVAD, TCF, AYYA, Malibu, Yves Tumor, Helm, Sky H1, Bill Kouligas samt adskillige andre nye navne. Selvom flere af bidragyderne til udgivelsen primært har beskæftiget sig med andre elektroniske stilarter, er de i alt 16 artisters numre på “Mono No Aware (もののあわれ)” ambient. Læs resten

Repeat på redaktionen i 2012 (sange)

December 23 2012

Animal Collective “New Town Burnout” / “Amanita” (Domin0)
Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti “Only in My Dreams” (4AD)
Blågårdsgade “Slags Sommer” (selfreleased)
Christopher Owens “Here We Go” (Turnstile)
Choir of Young Believers “Paralysed” (Ghostly International)
CTM “Jewel” (Tambourhinoceros)
Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland: “Track 2 (Lay You Down)” (Hippos in Tanks)
Deep Time “Clouds” (Hardly Art)
Deerhoof “Fete D’adieu” (Polyvinyl)
Ducktails “The Flower Lane” (Domino)
Goat “Goathead” (World Music)
Grimes “Oblivion” (4AD)
Happy Hookers for Jesus “Stab You” (Vulgar Deformity)
Jakob Skøtt ”Legacy Lost” (El Paraiso)
Kendrick Lamar “Backseat Freestyle” (Interscope)
King Krule “Rock Bottom” (Rinse)
Lotus Plaza “Strangers” (Kranky)
Lower “But There Has To Be More” (Escho)
Marching Church “Throughout The Borders” (posh isolation)
Melody’s Echo Chamber ”Crystalized” (Weird World)
Ocean View “Sober” (Big Oil Recording Company)
Per Hoier “Drained Song” (LJUD)
Petri F. feat. HVAD og Kidd “Angst” (selfreleased)
Plants “Rise” (selfreleased)
Selvhenter “Æbler & Pærer” (Eget Værelse)
Solos ”All My Tribulations” (Joyful Noise)
Synd & Skam “Bruce” (Af Med Hovedet)
Scott Walker “Epizootics”  (4AD)
Trash Talk ”F.E.B.N” (Odd Future Records)
Vår “In Your Arms” (Sacred Bones)

(Albums på repeat på redaktionen i 2012)